HUGO Spring/Summer 2019 Fashion Show

HUGO Spring/Summer 2019 Fashion Show 
Modern-day mixmasters: reimagining eras past 

Berlin, July 6, 2018. Reminiscent of a hedonistic ’90s rave, HUGO’s Spring/Summer 2019 show took place at Motorwerk – the original home of Berlin techno.



Entitled "Mixmasters", Spring/Summer 2019 is inspired by those who mix and match styles of different decades to create their own aesthetic. The collection promotes a do-it-yourself approach to fashion – bringing the idea of customization and selfexpression to the forefront. Influenced by the creative energy and eclectic street style of Berlin, HUGO makes the rules this season.



The collection – menswear and womenswear – features elevated pieces that would feel at home on the streets of Berlin. Complete with customized elements like drawstring detailing, archival HUGO designs are reimagined; slouchy suit jackets, dress trousers and body-skimming slip dresses are paired with nylon cycling jerseys and bright Lycra bathing suits. HUGO also delivers a colorful alternative to workwear: washed and rewashed acid yellow denim jackets, with matching straight-leg jeans for men and super-short shorts for women.

Contrasts are an important collection theme, in particular, the combination of natural fibers and synthetic materials. Bright mesh linings peek out from underneath the hem of perforated wool suits, oversized linen jackets are worn over technical silk shirts and soft ribbed knits are styled with tight Lycra cycling shorts. 

In terms of print and pattern, the collection – once again – takes its cues from ‘90s culture. Graphics based on Berlin walls plastered with club posters feature on men's mesh T-shirts, while blurred roses, inspired by album artwork of the period, detail women's dresses Elsewhere, taped logo accents bring a HUGO touch to retro, colorblock tracksuits.

The collection's color palette is characteristically eccentric, with overwhelming amounts of acid yellow, pops of pale blue, touches of chalky pink and hints of neon orange – in direct contrast to the minimal white and neutrals that run throughout.

The industrial venue was transformed by HUGO into a grimy, dimly lit techno club once more. Guests assembled on podiums directly on the runway as models zigzagged in and out, creating the illusion of a rave in full swing. After the show guests gathered outside, where Casper mattresses mounted on wooden pallets provided seating. Live performances from rapper Wiz Khalifa and DJ sets from Berghain resident Marcel Dettmann, DJ Hell and Ellen Allien kept the party going well into the night. 

High-resolution images can be downloaded from: press-service.hugoboss.com/collections/HUGO_Show_Spring_Summer_2019_Party

Further information on HUGO can be found on:
www.hugoboss.com/hugofashionshow

If you have any questions, please contact:

Austria, Germany and Switzerland:
Carolin Scheurer
E-mail: carolin_scheurer@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +49 151 402 617 34

Australia:
Jessica Campbell
E-mail: jessica_campbell@hugoboss.com
Phone: +61 394 746 371

Belgium / Netherlands:
Lisa van der Hulst
E-mail: lisa_van-der-hulst@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +31 6 22806912

Brazil:
Larissa Lanzo
E-mail: larissa_lanzo@hugoboss.com
Phone: +55 11 3070 5897

Canada:
Dawn Bellini
E-mail: dawn_bellini@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +1 416 254 2677

China:
Alice Shi
E-mail: alice_shi@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +86 1391022 3665

Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden:
Louise Normann
E-mail: louise_normann@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +45 537 313 02

France:
Milena Jorge
E-mail: milena_jorge@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +33 614 502 357

Greece:
Terpsi Aramvoglou
E-mail: terpsi_aramvoglou@hugoboss.com
Phone: +30 216 900 2300

Hong Kong:
Samantha Lau
E-mail: samantha_lau@hugoboss.com
Phone: +852 2378 7012

Italy:
Chiara Dalla Stella
E-mail: chiara.dallastella@karlaotto.com
Mobile: +39 346 3945436

Japan:
Kinuyo Takayama
E-mail: kinuyo_takayama@hugoboss.com
Phone: +81 357 747 653

Mexico:
Karina Gil
E-mail: karina_gil@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +52 155 456 679 50

Portugal:
Margarida Peres
E-mail: margarida_peres@hugoboss.com
Phone: +351 916259681

Russia:
Ekaterina Kirsanova
E-mail: ekaterina_kirsanova@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +7 (916) 6077998

Singapore:
Melanie Goh
E-mail: melanie_goh@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +65 839 953 72

Spain: Isabel Lavín
E-mail: isabel_lavin@hugoboss.com
Phone: +34 661 629 749

Turkey:
Ece Saran
E-mail: ece_saran@hugoboss.com
Phone: +90 212 247 00 56

UK:
Annie Couchman
E-mail: annie_couchman@hugoboss.com
Mobile: +44 788 038 9919

USA:
Kelly Frey
E-mail: kelly_frey@hugoboss.com
Phone: +1 212 940 0603

Downloads zum Thema