Finalists announced for the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2018

On December 13, 2017, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation and HUGO BOSS have released the shortlist for the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2018. The six artists nominated by the jury are: Bouchra Khalili, Simone Leigh, Teresa Margolles, Emeka Ogboh, Frances Stark and Wu Tsang. Selected by a jury comprised of internationally leading curators, critics and scholars, the winner will be announced in fall of 2018.

Bouchra Khalili, The Tempest Society, 2017, Color video with sound, 60 min., Installation view: Documenta 14, Athens School of Fine Art, Athens, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Stathis Mamalakison

Emeka Ogboh, The Way Earthly Things Are Going, 2017, Multichannel sound installation and real-time LED display of world stock indexes, Installation view: Documenta 14, Athens Conservatoire (Odeion), Athens, Photo: Mathias Völzke

The HUGO BOSS PRIZE carries a stipend of USD 100,000. Its aim is to honor artists whose work ranks among the most innovative and influential within the landscape of contemporary art. It is open to all artists, irrespective of age, gender, nationality or chosen medium. 

Frances Stark, Behold Man (Nancy and Sluggo recto verso pendant pair), 2017, Ink, spray paint, and gesso on canvas, 129.5 x 213.4 cm, Courtesy the artist and Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami. Photo: Frederick Nielsen

Teresa Margolles, Dance floor of the discotheque "La Madelon" (Pista de baile de la discoteca "La Madelon"), 2016, Chromogenic print on cotton paper, 120 x 180 cm, Courtesy the artist and LABOR

In 2016, we celebrated the 20th anniversary of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE, which is granted by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation in New York and one of the most highly-coveted accolades in the art world. Since its inauguration, the prize has recognised 66 artist and artist duos, culminating in 10 exhibitions held at the Guggenheim Museum. Past winners are:

2016: Anicka Yi

2014: Paul Chan

2012: Danh Vo

2010: Hans-Peter Feldmann

2008: Emily Jacir

2006: Tacita Dean

2004: Rirkit Tiravanija

2002: Pierre Huyghe

2000: Marjetica Potrč

1998: Douglas Gordon

1996: Matthew Barney

Wu Tsang, We hold where study, 2017, Two-channel color HD video, with sound, 18 min., 56 sec., Installation view: Kunsthalle Münster, May 27–October 1, 2017, Courtesy the artist and Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi, Berlin., Photo: Roman Mensing

Simone Leigh, Dunham II, 2017, Terracotta, graphite, and steel, 105.4 x 55.9 x 58.4 cm, © Simone Leigh; Courtesy the artist and Luhring Augustine, New York. Photo: Farzad Owrang

Connect With Us

Dieselstrasse 12
72555 Metzingen

Phone: +49 7123 94-0
Fax: +49 7123 94-80259

Follow us on: