HUGO BOSS

Press Information

Tacita Dean named recipient of HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2006

Solo exhibition of the artist's work at New York City's Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in early 2007

<u>Metzingen/New York, November 15, 2006.</u> Thomas Krens, Director of The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, Lisa Dennison, Director of The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, and Dr. Bruno Saelzer, Chairman and CEO of HUGO BOSS AG, announced last night that the British artist Tacita Dean has been named the recipient of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2006.

Marking its tenth anniversary this year, the award testifies to the continuing commitment of HUGO BOSS to the Arts. The HUGO BOSS PRIZE, which is administered by The Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, was established in 1996 to recognize significant achievement in contemporary art. Tacita Dean, who will receive an award of USD 50,000, was selected by an international jury of museum curators and directors. A solo exhibition featuring the artist's work will be on view at the Guggenheim Museum from February 23 through June 6, 2007.

"It has been over a decade since the Guggenheim entered into this collaboration with HUGO BOSS to administer the prize that bears its name", said Thomas Krens. "Since its inception, the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has recognized the most innovative artists of our time and has evolved into one of the premier juried prizes of the contemporary art world. Tacita Dean joins an illustrious group of extraordinary talented artists who have received the prize".

HUGO BOSS

"We are very proud to be celebrating the tenth jubilee of the HUGO BOSS PRIZE. This milestone underscores the importance of the accolade which has become an established feature of the contemporary art scene," said Dr. Bruno Saelzer, Chairman and CEO of HUGO BOSS.

The other artists short-listed by the jury were Jennifer Allora (U.S.A.) and Guillermo Calzadilla (Puerto Rico), John Bock (Germany), Damián Ortega (Mexico), Aïda Ruilova (U.S.A.), and Tino Sehgal (United Kingdom), in addition to Tacita Dean.

This year sees the sixth time the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has been presented. Since its inception, it has been awarded to the American artist Matthew Barney (1996), Scottish artist Douglas Gordon (1998), Marjetica Potrč from Slovenia (2000), the French artist Pierre Huyghe (2002), and Rirkrit Tiravanija from Thailand (2004).

If you have any questions, please contact:

Philipp Wolff Director of Communication Dr. Hjördis Kettenbach Head of Arts Sponsorship

Phone:+49 (0) 7123-94-2375Fax:+49 (0) 7123-94-2051

Further information on the HUGO BOSS PRIZE and on the artists can be found on the website www.hugoboss-prize.com.