Deana Lawson awarded the 2020 HUGO BOSS PRIZE


New York/Metzingen, October 22, 2020.
Yves Müller, CFO and Spokesman of the Managing Board, HUGO BOSS AG, and Richard Armstrong, Director of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation, announced today that Deana Lawson has been awarded the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2020. She is the 13th artist and yet first photographer to receive the biennial accolade, which was established in 1996 to recognize significant achievement in contemporary art. Carrying a stipend of $100,000, the Prize is administered by the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. Lawson’s work will be presented in a solo exhibition at New York's Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in spring 2021. 

“The HUGO BOSS PRIZE marks a highlight in our partnership with the Guggenheim Museum and we are proud that it has been at the core of our arts program for almost 25 years,” noted Yves Müller. “We would like to extend our sincerest congratulations to Deana Lawson and express our gratitude to the jury and the Guggenheim Museum for their dedication and support in this project." 

“Lawson is the first photographer to be recognized with the award in its history, and her contribution to the medium and the larger cultural landscape is profound. We are grateful for our partnership with HUGO BOSS, which spans over two decades and has played a critical role in shaping the Guggenheim’s contemporary program,” said Richard Armstrong. 

Deana Lawson was selected from a short-list of six finalists, which included Nairy Baghramian, Kevin Beasley, Elias Sime, Cecilia Vicuña and Adrián Villar Rojas. This year, in recognition of the remarkable achievements of the nominees and the challenges presented by the current global pandemic to the field, HUGO BOSS will award each of the remaining artists an extraordinary honorarium of $10,000. 

Since its establishment, the HUGO BOSS PRIZE has gone to Matthew Barney (1996), Douglas Gordon (1998), Marjetica Potrč (2000), Pierre Huyghe (2002), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2004), Tacita Dean (2006), Emily Jacir (2008), Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010), Danh Vo (2012), Paul Chan (2014), Anicka Yi (2016); and Simone Leigh (2018). Regardless of age, gender, nationality, or medium, it honors the work of remarkable artists whose practices are among the most innovative and influential of our time. 

The jurors for the 2020 cycle are Naomi Beckwith, Manilow Senior Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; Katherine Brinson, Daskalopoulos Curator, Contemporary Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Julieta González, independent curator; Christopher Y. Lew, Nancy and Fred Poses Curator, Whitney Museum of American Art; and Nat Trotman, Curator, Performance and Media, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum. 


High-resolution images can be downloaded through the following Link. 

For more insights into the HUGO BOSS PRIZE please visit: 

Twitter & LinkedIn: @HUGOBOSS 
Facebook & Instagram: @boss 

If you have any questions, please contact: 

Carolin Westermann 
Head of Corporate Communications 
Phone: +49 7123 94-86321